Sunday, October 27, 2013

From the National League rule book...

OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.
Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. For example: an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner.

Sorry, Red Sox fans, but the Umps were right. Maybe if you played in a league that didn't use Church League Softball rules...

1 comment:

The Underground Pewster said...

I have no dog in this fight but I agree with the umpire. "Thou shalt not raise thy legs a second time."